Animal Farm

“Donkeys live a long time,” says Benjamin (a donkey) in George Orwell’s novel The Animal Farm.  Donkeys live a long time because they don’t question, they just carry the burden. They cannot question.  They have been made impotent.  Made impotent by the system.  The system run by pigs.  That’s what George Orwell’s novel shows. 

I am celebrating the 66th year of the publication of The Animal Farm through this post. Why 66th year?  Because I am a donkey, if you like.  Because I like the number 6, if you like.

I attended a meeting today.  That’s the real reason. “Let’s not speak anything against the management,” said a member occupying the seat nearest to the boss (which he vacated when somebody closer to the boss arrived and kept standing since there was no more seat left for him). 

In Orwell’s Animal Farm the animals rebel against their human proprietor so that they could have a welfare society.  WELFARE.  Welfare for all, not just a few who are close to the boss.  In the novel only the pigs are close to the boss.  The pigs change all the rules which were made in the beginning when the Farm was taken over from the enemy, man.  For example, the rule “No animal shall sleep in bed” is changed into “No animal shall sleep in bed with sheets.”  “No animal shall kill another animal” becomes “No animal shall kill another animal without reason.”

Finally…  

Napoleon the pig gets the air-conditioned office and the other animals get rules about the limits of the electricity generator.

Finally Napoleon the pig gets all the bonuses and allowances, and the other animals are told to wait until the  balance sheet of the accounts dances to the tunes played by Napoleon.

Finally locks appear everywhere in the Animal Farm.  LOCKS.  That’s what the animals (except the pigs) get in the WELFARE CLUB.

Moral: “Do not give that which is holy to the dogs, or put your jewels before pigs, for fear that they will be crushed under foot by the pigs whose attack will then be made against you.” [Mathew 7:6]

About matheikal

My more regular blog can be accessed at www.matheikal.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Animal Farm

  1. Raghuram Ekambaram says:

    “Death by thousand cuts,” is what happens to any new rule or regulation – exceptions start pouring in. The way you have presented “Animal Farm” makes me interested in reading it. But, having read “1984” I am not sure it would hold much suprise for me. Interest, yes, of course.

    Raghuram Ekambaram

    • matheikal says:

      If you didn’t like 1984 you won’t like Animal Farm, I think. Animal Farm is a fable rather than a novel. And George Orwell is not my favourite novelist. He may be my favourite essayist. Like 1984, Animal Farm is an attack on Stalinism. I was also attacking Stalinism in the post. Stalin killed communism. Stalin killed Marxism. Stalin killed Socialiam. I saw so many killers before I wrote this post!

  2. Raghuram Ekambaram says:

    No matheikal, I liked 1984. But, the way you have presented it, I felt it would hold not much surprises for me. Perhaps I am pre-judging. So be it.

    Raghuram Ekambaram

  3. dawnanddew says:

    Let us assume that Napoleon never gets a peaceful sleep. How would IT? Napoleon! … Please take care of your health. I forgive Napoleon in Jesus’ style: Forgive them(IT), my Lord. They (IT) know not what they(IT) do(es). (understatement incorporated).
    Dawn on 26th July.

    • matheikal says:

      “The wicked grow like the palm tree,” says the Bible. Somewhere in the Bible which I m not able to locate now.
      So Napolean will get peaceful sleep.
      But I don’t believe in the Bible. I take it as another work of literature [set of works written over a long period of time]. The wicked flourish – the Bible or no Bible. That is the world. That was the world. Religion is meant to help the wicked flourish.

      Please read my reply to Raghuram also.

Leave a Reply

