My Leader is a Thief

 

Mera Neta Chor Hai [My Leader is a Thief] is a song composed by some young Indians in support of Anna Hazare’s fast-unto-death for getting the Lokpal Bill passed.  You can listen to the song at the following link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSSSwZ4BXQ8

One of my past students, Siddharth Gupta, sent the link to me.  Siddharth has been actively involved in the anti-corruption campaign.  He also posted a blog on it.  Below is the link to his blog.

http://siddharthgupta.blog.com/2011/04/04/we-have-a-leader/

It’s great that young people like Siddharth have taken the issue of corruption in India seriously.  Siddharth also informed me that they are distributing free T-shirts bearing the inscription “Mera Neta Chor Hai.”  Here’s what Siddharth writes in his email:  “Please mail your contact details i.e. your name, contact number and city to ravi.priya@hotmail.com to get your free ‘MERA NETA CHOR HAI’ t-shirts by this week, you should wear it till the Jan Lokpal Bill(Citizen’s Ombudsman Bill) is accepted since this would certainly embarrass our politicians.”

I wish all success to Siddharth and other youngsters involved in this great movement. India is proud of them.

I wonder why the Congress Party is unable to get the bill passed or at least give an assurance to that effect to Anna Hazare so that the 72-year old activist can put an end to his fasting.  India needs Hazare for many more years ahead.  India needs him much more than all its politicians.

About matheikal

My more regular blog can be accessed at www.matheikal.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in india and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Leader is a Thief

  1. dawnanddew says:

    Sir,
    In today’s context, I feel, the true leaders have vanished. After a few centuries, the etymology of the word ‘leader’ may trace back its meaning that we have realized with some good leaders because at that time the title of your blog may have the error of redundancy! I am sorry for you my veteran teacher:)

  2. matheikal says:

    Dawn, I will only be happy if the title is proved wrong. May such a time come!

Leave a Reply

