Pilgrimage

 

There is only one place where God [if he/she/it exists] can reside: your heart.

Why do you go searching for him [let me use that male chauvinist pronoun for convenience] in Mecca or Jerusalem or Vaishno Devi?

God does not confine himself to any place where hypocrites crowd with chanting and rituals.

It is man who imprisons god in such places.  With man-made rules.  Man-made rituals. 

Man thinks he can control god with such rituals.  Such pilgrimages.

The crooked man thinks that god is in his control. The crooked man wants others to be under his control.

The straight man finds god in his heart.  The straight man does not want anybody to be under his control.  The straight man wants man to be free.

Freedom (of the heart) and truth do not go hand in hand.  Never have they done.

Yet the pilgrim undergoes such suffering.  He is ready to undertake an arduous journey.  He is ready to fast.  He is ready to climb mountains when his body cannot even sit straight in a chair without a dog collar round his neck or a belt round his waist.

The pilgrim thinks that the waters of the Ganga can wash away his sins.

What washes away your sins is your own heart.  For cleansing your heart you may need a trip to a mountain or a desert or an ocean.

Go.

But don’t do it in the company of your sycophants.

Postscript: “One of the pleasantest things in the world is going a journey; but I like to go myself.  I can enjoy society in a room; but out of doors, nature is company enough for me….”  William Hazlitt

PPS: Anyone who looks for company where it is not desirable is a manipulator.

About matheikal

My more regular blog can be accessed at www.matheikal.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pilgrimage

  1. Raghuram Ekambaram says:

    My pilgrimages are always as an observer, like when I come to your school. What I observe outside, because it is colored by my mind, gives me clues to my heart.I ask my heart why does my mind think the way it did when I observed something? That IS my pilgrimage.

    Liked the post very much.

    Raghuram Ekambaram

  2. john.p.abraham says:

    mountains and riversides were the abodes of peace and tranquility.Wilderness was treated as somthing negative jungle became synomous with junglee.Ancient sages like you realised the godliness of such places even without believing in god and sadly made it pilgrim centres.

  3. dawnanddew says:

    Sir,
    I was asking the same question in my immature version when I was a child, in a somewhat confused and hesitant version when I was young, and am asking with conviction now – Why do you like to go to Tirupati as a Pilgrimage? I have already questioned my pious husband about the recent trip made by some of the colleagues – “It is funny that these people go with a lot of selfish wishes to Vaishno Devi. Which god is sitting there to bless them with what they want when they can’t think a damn about others!”

    Better ask them to take up a soul’s journey. How the path is full of thorns… it is horrible to imagine.

Leave a Reply

